2022 Women and Drones Awards

Nominations for 2022 Women and Drones Awards are now open

Now in its sixth (annual-ish) year, the nomination window for the 2022 Women and Drones Awards is now open. And just like last year, the awards show is set for a pretty epic time and place: CES 2023 in Las Vegas, Nevada .

The 2022 Women And Drones Awards are actually being slightly rebranded this year to the Women in Emerging Aviation Technologies Awards. That opens the awards up to a wider pool of women who might be working in other aspects of aviation, crewed or uncrewed. In the past five years, the award ceremony was referred to as the Women to Watch In Drones Awards.

“The change reflects efforts to broaden the goal of celebrating individuals and companies across the entire emerging aviation technologies system. In addition to drones or Uncrewed Aerial Systems (UAS), emerging aviation includes advances in electric vertical take-off and landing (eVTOL) vehicles as well as Advanced Air Mobility (AAM) which is the sector of the industry focused on integrating high volumes of uncrewed aircraft safely into the airspace,” according to a statement from Women and Drones.

The awards ceremony has been happening for six years, only thrown off in 2020 because, well, you know why. After many COVID-19-related disruptions, including the calling off of its former ceremony location entirely (that was slated for the now-defunct Interdrone conference), Women and Drones landed a big-time spot at the CES 2022 conference. Apparently CES was impressed, because the crew was invited back for another year.

Women In Emerging Aviation Technologies Awards

What changes with this year’s Women in Emerging Aviation Technologies Awards?

Beyond a fresh name change comes so fresh nomination categories. Individual Honorees will be chosen in ten different Women To Watch in Emerging Aviation Technologies categories. They are:

  • Leadership
  • Education
  • Geographic Information System (GIS)
  • AI/Autonomy
  • Visual Arts
  • Entrepreneurship
  • Public Safety/Public Service
  • Engineering
  • Sustainable Aviation Propulsion Technology
  • Drone Sports

Learn more about the individual honoree categories here, and nominate someone here.

Then there are team, or company awards, that can be won by a single group of multiple people. They are:

  • Innovation – Emerging Aviation Technologies Award
  • The Spotlight on Drones for Good Award

Then there are also two new awards: a Hall of Fame – Women in Emerging Aviation Technologies Award, which is set to include multiple honorees; and the Top Companies for Women in Emerging Aviation Technologies award. If you win a Hall of Fame award, expect a Hall of Fame Trophy, a feature in a Hall of Fame video, a feature on the Hall of Fame webpage, a segment in Women and Drone’s UAS/AAM documentary project, plus a celebration at a private industry recognition event immediately following the awards ceremony. You can nominate individuals to the Hall of Fame here and nominate companies here.

The big ceremony is set for Friday, January 6, 2023 at CES in Las Vegas, NV.

If you want to nominate someone, you have to move fast. The nomination window for all the categories is open now and closes on October 25, 2022 at 11:59 p.m. And yes, even self-nominations are accepted.

As far as the competition, here’s a look at the 2021 Women To Watch honorees, to give you an idea of the women who have paved the way in past years.

One Comment

Leave a Reply